1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Improving Literacy

Discussion in 'English' started by a51_ufo, Jan 4, 2011.

1. Evening all
    This is my first time in the English Forum and I hoping you will be able to help me out! I am a Maths teacher looking to help my form group improve their literacy.
    Their current English teacher mentioned they are lacking in the basics which should have be mastered in primary school. We have form time of 20 minutes every morning and I am looking to spend one or two a weeks on tasks that will help them improve. I have been shown the resources on Bitesize which look good though I was looking for some more ideas\activities to do with them?
    I had thought of putting a booklet together for them to work through though not sure where to start really. Another idea is to arrange for them to be in the computer room and have them work on online tasks.
    I would be so grateful for any ideas\resources\websites you could share!

2. Evening all
    This is my first time in the English Forum and I hoping you will be able to help me out! I am a Maths teacher looking to help my form group improve their literacy.
    Their current English teacher mentioned they are lacking in the basics which should have be mastered in primary school. We have form time of 20 minutes every morning and I am looking to spend one or two a weeks on tasks that will help them improve. I have been shown the resources on Bitesize which look good though I was looking for some more ideas\activities to do with them?