1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Importance of students lining up

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by melbgirl86, Jun 7, 2013.

1. How important is it that students are quietly lined up before you take them into class? I am a primary supply teacher and I've tried all of the following approaches:

1. praising students who are lined up quietly, then walking up and down the line and telling individual students that we are waiting for them

2. praise students who are lined up, then shout at the top of my voice to try to get everyone to line up

3. waiting until most of the students are lined up, then take all of them in. If students become too noisy/ haphazard, I will either stop in the hallway and ask them to line up again OR take them straight into the classroom and calmly tell them they need to line up quietly next time to get ready for class/that I expect more from them next time

For the most part I've alternated between #1 and #3 and found both approaches to be fine. (I guess being a supply teacher, though, I often feel like I should be trying to impress principals so I think I place more emphasise on lining up than I should.)

However I sometimes teach in a tough school and all 3 approaches don't seem to work! Either way, I take the kids in, spend ages trying to settle them down and don't get much work done.

I've noticed their regular teachers use #2 which works for them but my voice projection isn't as good as theirs (their teachers are older males and I'm a young female). Once I tried sending in half of the class who were lined up and asked the other half to wait outside but this didn't work at all.