1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Impact on others when TLR role is made redundant.

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by niamunna, Sep 3, 2017.

1. niamunna

niamunna New commenter

I work in a school where the headteacher has deemed the roles of Foundation and KS2 leaders as unnecessary. The people in the roles previous to September are having their salaries protected for three years. My concern is that the people in each department will be left to do the day to day stuff (extra assemblies, duty, behaviour management) for no extra pay. I'm certain that I remember some union guidance stating that this should not happen, because in removing the role, you are essentially stating that there is no need for the responsibilities associated with that role. I'm the most experienced teacher in my department and applied to go to UPS 3 before the summer, and I've a feeling a lot of this is going to come knocking at my door! Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

2. modgepodge

modgepodge Established commenter

Hmm. Im No legal expert but it seems to me, the things you mention - duties, assemblies and behaviour management - come under general teaching duties. If that's all the leaders were responsible for I'm not surprised the head has deemed them unnecessary!

flyingcircusfreak likes this.
  3. frustum

frustum Star commenter

While someone is receiving protected pay, I think they can be expected to do some extra tasks. So they'll probably very gradually shift the balance from them to the rest of the department, making it harder for people to challenge. Add in a bit of staff turnover, and some people wont even know they're doing masses more than three years earlier. Good luck!