1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I’m scared

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Nsands11, Oct 29, 2019.

1. Nsands11

Nsands11 New commenter

So I’m a level 3 student on placement in my local primary school as a classroom assistant and I also play bowls and tonight children from my placement were at bowls and got in an argument we were playing a game and one child “p” said would you rather have 10 of child “L” or one “R” I said 10 and child r got upset and now I think I’m in trouble i never thought before I said anything and I apologised to the child “r” and I know I shouldn’t have said anything about children outside of placement but it was a Halloween party and everyone was just a bit excited I’m scared that the parents will mention to my supervisor after we go back from half term. What should I do

2. amysdad

amysdad Established commenter

Oh dear.

First lesson - if you see your students outside of school, say hello, be polite, but don't interact any more than you need to. That avoids any potential issues (and at least with primary, you're less likely to see them in a pub on Friday night...)

I do think you need to discuss this with your supervisor in the school. It might well cause some problems and upset for R. There is a chance that it will all be blown over by the time half term ends but I think honesty might be the best policy here. Think about how you would react to it if it happened again to show that you have reflected and learnt from it.

jlishman2158, caress, Flanks and 5 others like this.
  3. HolyMahogany

HolyMahogany Senior commenter