1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I'm on 'special measures' - help!

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by musiclover1, Feb 21, 2012.

1. musiclover1

musiclover1 New commenter

I'm new in my school, I have some difficult
    classes and I've been trying to be as consistent as I can. I've set
    loads of detentions, I feel like on the whole things are getting better
    rather than worse, but now the school has escalated the situation and
    initiated some sort of 'capability procedure' or whatever it's called - I
    have to have a formal meeting with the Headteacher where my 'support'
    is going to be discussed. Basically, I'm going to be on 'special
    measures' for a month after some parents complained about noise levels in two of my classes.
    I'm wondering how that is supposed to help me and
    what sort of 'support' to request. I'm worried that this 'support' is
    going to be a euphemism for extra stress and extra work that I won't be
    able to fit into my schedule - such as observations.

2. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

You need to take a union rep into the meeting.
    Best wishes,
    P

3. anon8315

anon8315 Established commenter

I would start looking for another job straight away, I'm so sorry to say this but I think that this is disagraceful.
    For starters, you can exercise perfect classroom control in one school, move to another and be challenged repeatedly - it's establishing yourself and it takes time. In some schools it can take as long as two years!