1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I'm going to fail due to lack of evidence

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by UrsaMaterna, May 4, 2017.

1. UrsaMaterna

UrsaMaterna New commenter

Hello.

I don't know where else to ask.

If I fail a PGCE will I still be able to get some form of teaching job or will the 'fail' taint me.

I'm a science teacher with a biology degree who can teach biology and chemistry up to KS5

I'm pretty good with the teaching side of things, although my organisation skills require some work.

However, the PDP is proving an insurmountable mountain.
    I despise this more than I can put into words.
    The fact that a TEACHING degree cannot be passed unless the PAPERWORK is correct absolutely infuriates me.

So yeah. Will I have wasted a year of my life for nothing?

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

Your uni or provider will pull out all the stops to prevent you from failing - it's even possible to extend your end date to some extent. Remember, fails on their course look bad for them in their figures. They may be threatening you now, but they really don't want you to fail.

Without the PGCE pass you can't teach in a maintained school. Academies and independents don't require QTS, but they may prefer it; academies may refuse to pay you as a qualified teacher, i.e. 16k a year or something like that. You could work in FE or a 6th form college. Not having QTS may prevent you progressing in your career as it limits the schools who can take you on.