1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I'm a probationary teacher looking for some advice/tips please

Discussion in 'Scotland - Primary' started by madtrombone, Oct 28, 2015.

1. madtrombone

madtrombone New commenter

Hi I'm a probationary teacher looking for some advice/tips please.

I have a Primary 1-3 class with 10 children. My primary 1s are progressing through phonics steadily and I am feel fairly confident following Jolly phonics.

However, my P2 and 3s are struggling especially when it comes to reading and writing. I have been finding my reading lessons tricky as I would usually have given pupils a comprehension activity to complete while I was listening to reading groups but they are unable to complete such activities as they are not able to read text. They are so needy and I am not sure what to give the other pupils to develop comprehension/reading skills when I am listening to individuals read.

My question is what would advice would you have for this situation.

2. sir2006

sir2006 New commenter

The first thing that came into my mind was do you have PSA support during these lessons? If so, I'd be making good use of them to work with the group you are not direct teaching.

If your P2/3 group is struggling to the extent that they can't really read much, if any of the text independently, then perhaps you need to consider the level of the reading book they are currently on. Yes, you want them to be challenged but not to the extent that they can't read any of the text. Take them back to a book/level they can read and go from there.

3. madtrombone