1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I'm a new PE coordinator - help!

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by Favill, Mar 9, 2016.

1. Favill

Favill New commenter

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions on how to raise the profile of PE in school? I'm a recently qualified teacher and I'm looking for any successful sports courses or workshops that run in school to get them all excited about sport. We currently follow Real PE and are part of the New Forest School Sport Partnership. I run an after school fitness club and we run all the other usual suspects.
    Any ideas and links would be greatly appreciated. Has anyone had skipping days or football ground trips or people come in to teach fencing????

Thank you!

2. reddevil

reddevil Occasional commenter

My daughter's primary had a company called Skip2BFit. They did it as a sponsored event and it was really popular as I think skipping events seem to be. I'm not sure what sort of football ground trop you're after but some clubs offer match day ticket concessions to school groups. I've taken a few groups in the past and although potentially a risk assessment nightmare now they were good fun.

SportyK likes this.
  3. mattshort

mattshort New commenter