1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I'm a lesbian teacher and mentioned in conversation 'she' when talking about my partner

Discussion in 'Personal' started by zedly, Feb 13, 2020.

1. zedly

zedly New commenter

I'm a supply teacher and have been working full time at a SEMH school for boys since the beginning of term. My colleagues are aware that I'm in a same sex relationship and I have purposefully kept it private from the boys I teach as I was unsure of what their reactions might be.

Today a TA asked if my partner was ok and I responded with 'not to bad but she had a hypo this morning because of her diabetes.' This was overheard by 2 boys that immediately questioned me. I asked if it made any difference if I was a lesbian and they were both adamant it wouldn't. The classroom went silent and I was pressed for an answer again. I said that I was and the response was quite positive with one stating that I definitely can't leave now as they've never had a gay teacher before. I'm a little worried how the rest of the school will respond as I'm sure I will be the topic of conversation now. Any advice or thoughts on how to deal with it? Especially if it's negative. I immediately informed my line manager and he said 'So what! It is fine and they will be accepting anyway. There's no shame in it.' I'm very grateful that he was supportive and made me feel more at ease...Still a little nervous though.

agathamorse and caress like this.
  2. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter