1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

IGCSE ICT

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by bennydcfc, Apr 13, 2011.

1. Hi guys,

I'm moving to a school in Bangkok in the Summer, and I will be teaching the IGCSE - ICT course (which I have very little knowledge of at the present time).

I'm currently teaching the OCR Nationals course in the UK.

I know these courses are structurally VERY different, and if anybody could recommend any guide books/give general info/past experiences, it would be a huge help.

Thank you in advance!

bennydcfc :)

2. Principal-Skinner

Principal-Skinner Occasional commenter

I like the standard Cambridge IGCSE ICT, but the Oxford is also decent.

3. moscowbore

moscowbore Occasional commenter

The CIE IGCSE ICT is a good course. Three exams, 1 theory, 2 practical. No coursework.
    Lots of books all about the same in my view. Just look on amazon.
    Your department must already have a scheme of work.
    I found the course very wordy. EAL students need help with vocabulary

I have been teaching it for 4 years now. Please ask anything specific.

4. bbibbler

bbibbler New commenter

Is that thhe Exam where the students have to E-Mail for the questions, just make sure your new school has a good connection and low firewalls.

5. can you help which web authoring tools do you use when teaching Cambridge as Frontpage seems very outdated

6. moscowbore

moscowbore Occasional commenter

We have been using Frontpage and plan to continue doing so. It is out of date. However, it does everything needed for the exam.

7. jpgreenwood

jpgreenwood New commenter