1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

IFS Level 3 Certificate in Financial Studies

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by porl99, Jun 25, 2016.

1. porl99

porl99 New commenter

Hi, I was just wondering if anybody has any experience of this qualification or the Diploma? I would be very interested to know your thoughts for example: Is it a good and worthwhile course? Do the students enjoy it? How many hours a week are needed to teach it? How well do the students perform on the course i.e. what sort of results do they get compared to their other qualifications.

Many thanks in advance

2. sohara1

sohara1 New commenter

Hi, I have been teaching this qualification for 5 years and 3 of those with the new (current) specification that is going. They are very good qualifications and do promote a high level of awareness of what is happening around the students day to day. My students have always been enthusiastic about the subject as most of them embrace what they are learning. Results are very good and that is a consistent outcome year upon year for our school. It tends to be the best performing subject on the L3VA comparisons each year.

I have uploaded many of my resources so would suggest downloading them and taking a look for the content, but anything else I can help with then please let me know.

3. porl99

porl99 New commenter

Thank you Sohara1 that's really helpful. May I ask how many hours a week you have to teach the course and is it enough/too many. Thanks again

4. sohara1

sohara1 New commenter