1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

IfL on TES

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by Lee.Davies, Oct 18, 2009.

1. Hi all
    Alan asked if IfL would like to pick up some of the issues raised on the forum, so herre I am in my 'official' capacity. Some of you will know that I have used the forum for many years, going back to my time in adult and community learning.
    For those who don't know me - I joined IfL in the summer of 2005, having been given the fantastic opportunity lo lead all of its work as both a voluntary professional body (we still are such a body for a large number of our members) and to prepare the infrastructure for IfL taking on its regulatory role in September 2007.
    I am a plumber by trade, starting out in FE as a part-time plumbing lecturer at Highbury College in Portsmouth in 1987. With the 90s being a time of continuous deconstruction and reconstruction, I was afforded a number of chances to develop my career at Highbury, eventually under the guidance of one of the most inspirational Principals of that challenging period. Senior Lecturer > Head of Division > Head of School > when I left Highbury in 1999 I had a senior leadership role for curriculum development and innovation.
    I then had six wonderful years as District Secretary of the Workers' Educational Association's Thames and Solent District. I came to work for the WEA through an innovative project I was leading in Portsmouth in the late 90s to bring non-schedule 2 (that's non-accredited/informal) learning to those traditionally disengaged from FE.