1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

IEPs - please advise me

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by juliemitchellbell, Jan 30, 2012.

1. I am a teacher of KS3 Music/Drama/Art. My problem is that I have around 100 pupils with IEPs. I am being asked to comment on these IEPs and to collect evidence monthly. I have been asked to keep written records of this and then to review every 3 months commenting on whether targets should change or not. All comments are to be handed in to SENCO at the end of the 3 months (but not evidence). I am spending around 3 hours per week on this and am struggling to do it honestly and effectively. I usually only teach the pupils for one period per week and because of the practical nature of my subjects I rarely have classroom assistants to help with this.
    Is this an acceptable workload? Some Maths/English teachers only have around 20 IEPs, see the pupils 4 times per week and have classroom assistants to help with the workload.
    Any comments/advice would be most appreciated.
    Many thanks
    Julie

2. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

I would consider that an unreasonable work expectation.... and raise this with your line manager. Negotiate a way around it.

I had a similar situation some years back as someone who teaches the entirity of KS3 - over 450 kids - seeing them once a fortnight and having to provide assessment tracking for them each half term. I explained how it seemed both impossible a task to assess them all with accuracy and asked that I submit assessment tracking once a term - so 3 times a year instead of 6.....

3. Ruthie66

Ruthie66 New commenter