1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ideas needed for the first 2 days back at school........

Discussion in 'Primary' started by primaryteacher12, Jul 31, 2011.

1. The children go back to school on September 1st & 2nd September. That means that their first day back is a Thursday... I am new to the school as well as an NQT, and a teacher told me that on these 1st two days back, not a lot is done lesson wise, and that 'real' lessons start on the Monday. I plan to do simple Literacy and Numeracy lessons to start to get to know the children, but for the afternoon lessons I asked the headteacher if I can start the topic off. She advised me to not start the topic until Monday and do PSHE/Citizenship lessons for the two afternoons. I want to do something really exciting...does anyone have any good ideas? I ordered a PSHE book but their ideas are not too good, and involve a lot of sitting around...my class are quite a lively bunch!

2. The children go back to school on September 1st & 2nd September. That means that their first day back is a Thursday... I am new to the school as well as an NQT, and a teacher told me that on these 1st two days back, not a lot is done lesson wise, and that 'real' lessons start on the Monday. I plan to do simple Literacy and Numeracy lessons to start to get to know the children, but for the afternoon lessons I asked the headteacher if I can start the topic off. She advised me to not start the topic until Monday and do PSHE/Citizenship lessons for the two afternoons. I want to do something really exciting...does anyone have any good ideas? I ordered a PSHE book but their ideas are not too good, and involve a lot of sitting around...my class are quite a lively bunch!