1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ideas for activity for 1st observation

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by anibee, Mar 15, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I'm a student working with pre-school children. We're learning about observations & I'm finding it a bit daunting. I've been learning about time-sampling, event-sampling & anecdotal observations & asked in my setting if I could do an observation. They suggested I do a planned activity & observe that, but I'm unsure how to do this. I was under the impression that observations were supposed to gather facts without inference, but in my setting they seem to be looking for particular learning outcomes. I'm confused about it!! Can anyone make it clearer for me?
    Can anyone recommend an activity good for pre-school age?

2. There are many different self initiated activities you can plan for without leading the activity and therefore getting the evidence you require.
    You need to think about what you hope to observe the children doing for example you might want to see if they can count accurately using 1 to 1 correspondance or if they share and take turns.