1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I'd like to switch from Secondary to Primary...can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by abbierhodes, Dec 31, 2011.

1. I have been teaching English at secondary level now for 8 years and I'd really, really like to try primary teaching. I have a bit of pastoral experience and some curriculum management experience. (all at secondary level obviously)
    I have worked with primary aged children in playschemes, youth clubs and as a learning mentor before I went into teaching.
    I just have absolutely no idea where to start with this. I've been told to just 'apply for jobs and hope for the best' but would a primary head really ever employ me over an experienced primary teacher? I feel that even NQTs would have the advantage as they have been trained for the correct environment.
    I have a family to support, otherwise I'd seriously consider doing a complete new PGCE, but financially I cant afford to retrain from scratch.
    Does anyone have any suggestions?

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Well, you couldn't do a 'complete new PGCE' and yes the big problem is convincing Heads that you are capable of teaching the complete range of curriculum subjectsbetter than all the hundreds of Primary trained teachers competing forany post.
    Now is perhaps not the best time to 'try Primary teaching'. Why do you want to change? Could you consider applying for promotion within Secondary, perhaps moving into pastoral work ay another school? A change is as good as a rest?

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Do you want the positive, nice answer or the truthful one?