1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ICT signposting needed for a noob

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by shavenhobo, May 4, 2019.

1. shavenhobo

shavenhobo New commenter

Hi all,

In a nutshell I have been a teacher for 11years with a focus on art, graphics,media and more recently DT. I will soon embark on an ICT/Computing role and I’m looking at the best way to approach this.

I have an ICT diploma from many years ago and I’m pretty fluent in most of the Adobe suite so I’m feeling confident in most areas however for om what I can see the areas I will probably trip up on are:

Teaching 2 programming languages to solve computational problems.

Some of the theory.

I am currently revisiting html and CSS whilst also working through some basic Python.

I was just wondering how other teachers approached the 2 programming languages.

What do you use?
    How difficult should the computational problem be?
    Is html sufficient as a text based languages in the eyes of the curriculum gods or should my problems be input/mathematical?

Any help gratefully appreciated

2. moscowbore

moscowbore Senior commenter

If you were asked to teach Mandarin would you give that a go too?

binaryhex likes this.
  3. shavenhobo

shavenhobo New commenter

No because I have no experience of Mandarin. What a pointless comment, so helpful. I’ve built websites before. Wind your neck in.

4. tjra

tjra Occasional commenter

Stick with the Python as it's the language most schools use and it's a good one to learn as there are lots of resources around to help.