1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ICT PGCE To do or not to.....

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by thebridekiddo, Jul 20, 2011.

1. Hi,

This is my first post and I need some advise from those of you in the field already. I am a mother of 2 small kids and need to start earning some money. I have 4 years experience working in networking for an Investment bank and stopped to have a family. After looking at various jobs there are none out there for people who want to not work 24/7. I am now thinking of applying to become an ICT secondary school teacher. Having read about the current situation with regard to ICT in schools I am now thinking even this is not a good idea.

Should I bother going down the PGCE route only to find mass redundancies when I come out?
    Should I take my PGCE in another subject? (I have a BSc Hons in Business I.T)

Any help/advise would be greatly appreciated.

2. Hi,

This is my first post and I need some advise from those of you in the field already. I am a mother of 2 small kids and need to start earning some money. I have 4 years experience working in networking for an Investment bank and stopped to have a family. After looking at various jobs there are none out there for people who want to not work 24/7. I am now thinking of applying to become an ICT secondary school teacher. Having read about the current situation with regard to ICT in schools I am now thinking even this is not a good idea.

Should I bother going down the PGCE route only to find mass redundancies when I come out?
    Should I take my PGCE in another subject? (I have a BSc Hons in Business I.T)

Any help/advise would be greatly appreciated.