1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

IB training

Discussion in 'International Baccalaureate' started by mandyliedke, May 11, 2020.

1. mandyliedke

mandyliedke New commenter

Hello!
    I am an art teacher and very interested in the IB and its approach to learning. My question is; where can I get IB training? I saw that a lot of international schools are looking for art teachers with IB training. I am experienced with the IPC and English National Curriculum. I appreciate your help. Mandy

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

3. taiyah

taiyah Occasional commenter

@mandyliedke With your IPC experience, you will transition into the IB fairly easily. The IPC's learner outcomes and scope and sequences per phase is are far better than what the IB has in its very vague 'framework'.

It was in October 2018, that the brains of the PYP committee decided to release its "publications" that IT should be taught not just be treated as a tool. Funny that... in the world of technological age that started in 1993.

Keep all of your resources and login ins from IPC. It will help you. Best of luck to you.

4. mandyliedke

mandyliedke New commenter

Thank you. I am applying to new schools most of them like teachers to have IB training or experience. I am an art teacher. Is it worth doing an IB training for visual art on my own? It is 450 Dollars after all. I would appreciate your advice. I always thought that the IPC and IB are very similar in their approach.

5. taiyah

taiyah Occasional commenter

@mandyliedke many schools ask for IB training for two reasons,
    1) so that the teacher can just slot in