1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

i would like your help please

Discussion in 'Independent' started by liverpool00, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Hi!

I’m a Greek classics teacher. I live in Greece and
    I’m interested in teaching classics in a UK school. I would like your opinion
    on a couple of matters. Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

I
    have gained QTS, but I have no UK teaching (classroom) experience.

1) Do
    you think that it is a serious drawback? What
    can I do about that? How can I gain some teaching experience?

2) I’m wondering what my chances really are finding
    a classics post in an independent school with no experience.

Thanks
    in anticipation.

2. trinity0097

trinity0097 New commenter

As in you are a classics teacher that just teaches classical Greek, or a classics teacher who is Greek?
    Our current classics teacher (prep school) is not a qualified teacher, not many classics teachers are trained in the UK each year, however most of her work is teaching Latin, Greek is just for able children in their final year who can cope with it.
    If you have teaching experience, UK or not, then that is what schools will be looking for. You have nothing to lose in making applications, although it's probably one of those subjects where there isn't a huge turnover in staff and I would suspect (but have no proof) that many classics teachers are nearing retirement age.

3. I’m a
    Greek teacher who teaches Classical Greek and Latin in Greece and I’m interested
    in teaching these subjects in a UK school.

I have
    Greek teaching experience, but no UK teaching experience.

So, I assume I should
    keep an eye on the jobs advertised on the TES.

4. florian gassmann