1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I work 2 full days and 1 full morning per week is 0.5 contract week correct?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by simsparkes, Dec 6, 2018.

1. simsparkes

simsparkes New commenter

I work as a PPA cover teacher and teach all day Mondays and Tuesdays plus Wednesday mornings. Is it right that I get paid on a 0.5 contract? Our school days are 8.45am till 12.15pm mornings ( with 15 minutes break), I cover break on Monday and Wednesday mornings, I also attend staff meetings every Tuesday afternoon. Afternoon sessions are 1.15pm to 3.15pm. I receive no PPA time but my headteacher says they will increase my contract to 0.55. Is this correct? Thanks in advance.

2. frustum

frustum Lead commenter

I think assemblies don't count in the calculation. You don't count breaks, either - just teaching time and PPA time.

Ignoring assemblies: school's teaching week = 5.25x5 = 26.25, your teaching week = 13.75+10% PPA = 15.125
    15.125/26.25 = 0.576...

If there's 15 minutes assembly every morning, it would be 14.3/25 = 0.572.

Staff meetings and duties don't come into the calculation. Once you've got your proportion of teaching/PPA time, whether it's 0.55 or 0.57 or whatever, multiply that by 1265 to find your directed time. They cannot direct you for more than that time, so if your teaching time, PPA time, duties, staff meetings, etc add up to more than that over the year, you can politely enquire about reducing that - perhaps by skipping selected staff meetings that have little relevance to you.

nvanlimbeek likes this.
  3. ridleyrumpus

ridleyrumpus Senior commenter

How many lessons are there in the morning and how many in the afternoon?