1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I want to teach Maths in Secondary schools but am from an FE back ground. How do i switch ?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by Rob-Teacher, Jun 12, 2011.

1. Hi there i wonder if anyone can help me. I am studying to gain my QTLS
    status by completing a Diploma in Teching in the Lifelong Learning
    sector. I have already passed the Certificate (CTLLS) and am about to
    undergo the Diploma in September. I really want to move into main stream
    education and teach Maths. I have always been quite good at it and
    enjoy working things out. I have tutored my daughter through her GCSE's
    and loved every minute of it. I currently have a Level 2 in Adult
    Numeracy but am not sure if i need A levels to teach at GCSE level. I
    understand the Wolf report allowed a vocation teacher in an FE college
    to teach in schools but i am told that does not allow me to teach main
    stream subjects like Maths. My question is what qualifications do i need
    to become a Maths teacher and are there any bridging courses that allow
    me to go from QTLS to QTS. Any help on this would be really
    appreciated!

2. I think I would ask - would you employ you if you were head of maths looking for a new teacher at this stage of your carear? The likely answer is there are going to be so many candidates with better qualifications. The Numeracy level 2 is sooooo not anywhere as broad as the GCSE and you do not have that yet. So your credibility (on paper) to teach at A level is a little strained.