1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I want to teach abroad, but I've got no idea where to start!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Afra, Nov 13, 2011.

1. I'm in need of some advice and inspiration... I am in my third year of teaching English. According to most international job adverts, this means that I now qualify to apply. The problem is, I've got no idea where to go, or what I'm looking for. I have a partner and he teaches French, and we obviously want to go together, but I don't know how this could happen. I have no idea of how the procedure works if my applications are successful. Do we have to arrange accommodation and visas? Is it people like me who are taking on these roles? Will we be able to go as a couple? I've been inspired by my friend and colleague who recently emigrated to NZ. I'm tired and frustrated by teaching in the UK, and at 25, I want to take the opportunity to life and work abroad for a couple of years. The jobs on TES are usually China or United Arab Emirates - does anyone know where I would look for jobs elsewhere in the world? I would really like to hear from people who have taught abroad and about their experiences. I have no idea where to start, and your advice would be gratefully received. Thanks in advance