1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I want to retire....money worries

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by surf kitty too, Aug 6, 2019.

1. surf kitty too

surf kitty too Occasional commenter

I am a teacher, have done nearly 13 years according to TPS. My current pension is thus about £5K a year, with a £15 K lump sum.
    I am nearly 55. If I take early retirement, I understand that these figures will be adjusted down.

I have a couple of other small pension pots from previous roles outside of teaching, but cannot access these until I am 60 or even 65. Then there is the state pension at 65.

I emailed TPS asking if instead of taking a lump sum, I could have an increased pension - but I am still awaiting a reply - does anyone know if this can be done?

I am really not looking forward to September, I want out....but I cannot live on £5k a year, the mortgage still needs to be paid!

2. diddydave

diddydave Occasional commenter

As always with something as crucial and probably irreversible decisions like this I'd say you should probably pay an expert to give you proper advice rather than put too much weight in the chit-chat you will get from forums - that being said I'll offer the following from my understanding and experience (I am no expert!).

You cannot increase the teacher pension by converting the lump sum.
    You can increase the lump sum by converting up to 25% of your pension figure.
    You could use the lump sum to pay off some/all of the mortgage
    You could use the lump sum to buy an annuity (but it won't get you much)
    Your £5k pension will be reduced to 79.6% (£3980) if you take it at 55
    Your lump sum will also be reduced to 79.6% (£11940) if you take it at 55