1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I want to change the subject I want to teach- need some advice

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by ap1997, May 2, 2020.

1. ap1997

ap1997 New commenter

I currently teach ESOL at a FE college to 19+ learners. I love teaching adults but to be honest I find teaching ESOL boring. My degree is in English Lit and History. I love History and was originally planning to do a Secondary PGCE in History but when I did work experience at a secondary school I got scared by the behavior of the students and decided I'd hate teaching teenagers. The thing is I love teaching adults and my dream job would be to teach History to adult learners at an adult college/adult learning center. However, I never see jobs advertised for teaching History at FE colleges/adult education centers. All the jobs are either for ESOL or GCSE English or Functional Skills. I really love History and would love to teach it but I don't want to stop teaching adults. Is there any advice for me? I feel my quiet personality would make it very difficult for me to control teenagers so secondary school teaching isn't really an option for me.

2. ACOYEAR8

ACOYEAR8 Star commenter

Wow, quite a lot in common with my own interests!