1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I thought planning was supposed to get easier?!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by amyliv88, Jan 5, 2012.

1. amyliv88

amyliv88 New commenter

I'm currently in my final year of a BA QTS course. I can clearly remember my first year, the hours upon hours of planning for 3 weeks teaching (all Maths and English lessons, one science, one music). And this was repeated for each placement.
    Now I'm in my final year. I'm pretty sure I was almost promised by university tutors that the planning side of things would get easier in time, it would become a faster process. It hasn't, while my plans have been approved I still find myself for hours agonising (sp?) over them, changing this and that and adding more and more to them. I generally don't use them that much- a glance before lesson, it's my fail safe- if I blank in my lesson I can look down and discover the next question I should ask, there written in my plans, just in case. I suppose I'm relying too heavily on them but would panic if I didn't have them there.
    So my question is.. how long do you, other trainee teachers, spend planning? Please tell me I'm not alone!