1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I think I've reached the end.

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by marts66, Nov 5, 2018.

1. marts66

marts66 New commenter

I am so scared at the moment. I have been teaching for 26 years and just can't do it anymore. I know I can teach but I can't walk into a classroom at the moment and don't think I will ever be able to again.

I have been signed off for 2 months so far and am still having nightmares about being in the classroom. I know this has been coming for the past few years but I carried on as it's the only thing I've known and thought it might go away but it hasn't. I cried for help to the college and they offered me a learning assistant position at £9/hr term time only; I didn't know what it was like to be kicked when you're down but this seemed to tick the box. I explained to the VP about my issues and that I wanted to be considered for other positions in the college which I could lend my skills to but none of them were discussed with me even though I told them I can't do this anymore.

I'm in FE and teach English and maths and have a great LM and team but I can't just be a teacher for the rest of my working life. I have no real ideas what to do. I am considering starting up a handyman/ gardener business but am so scared of everything at the moment. I struggle to get out of bed, dressed, eat, anything. What does a washed up 52 year old do?

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

For the moment, you have to concentrate on getting yourself well. When you're fully recovered you'll be in a much better place to consider what your next move will be.