1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I think I'm failing my course

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Maddie274, Sep 14, 2017.

1. Maddie274

Maddie274 New commenter

Hi all. Not sure if I'm posting this in the right place, sorry if not.

I'm currently studying primary education at York St John and I'm about to go into my 3rd year.

I did really badly with my grades last year, coming out with a 3rd overall...so obviously I'm doubting whether there's even any point in my applying for teaching jobs.

I have a few questions for anybody that might be able to help, anyone that has experience with this course, getting low grades or just anyone that has any opinions to offer.

First, what are the chances of me bumping my grade up to a more 'acceptable' grade in my 3rd year? I'm not sure how the overall degrees are figured out, e.g. do they average out all your scores from 2nd and 3rd year? I have no clue. So say I work really hard in my 3rd year, is there still a chance of a 2:1 overall?

Secondly, what are the chances of employment, do you think? Has anyone got any experience with being employed when they've achieved lower degrees? Im just worried because I'll be applying for jobs this winter, and surely employers will be looking at the 3rd I got last year and will automatically think, 'nope.'

Also, I'm beginning to doubt teaching is for me. But I love being in a school. I'm thinking about TA/HLTA roles. Opinions?

Sorry that this is all a ramble. I'm having a crisis!

Thanks

2. Stiltskin

Stiltskin Lead commenter