1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I need your advice...

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sarah_kh9, Sep 2, 2019.

1. sarah_kh9

sarah_kh9 New commenter

Hello there.
    I am a student who refuses to study through the university route as I am unwilling to put myself in any form of debt.
    The above is non-negotiable so please bear with me.
    I have 9 GCSEs grades A*-Bs.
    I have four A levels, 2 grade As and 2Bs. I am also a qualified early years level 3 practitioner.
    I have been told to study level 5 education and training with mathematics included and then get a QTLS afterwards. I am told this will enable me to teach in primary schools (as that is what I want to do).

Is what I am told true? Can I teach primary mathematics with level 5 , QTLS and without attending Uni?

I know my chances are slimmer than graduates in finding a job but the diploma route is much cheaper.

Thank you
    Sara x

2. celago22

celago22 Occasional commenter

Qtls would enable you to teach post 16.
    You need QTS (qualified teacher status).
    They are not the same and you need QTS to be able to teach in a school. Qtls is more of a professional status "look at me, I completed a few months teaching") whereas QTS is the actual teaching qualification.
    If you want to teach in primary you will need QTS.
    Just do it properly, get the qualification and work in the age range that you would like to work in.

starlightexpress likes this.
  3. sarah_kh9

sarah_kh9 New commenter

But I’ve researched for days and constantly told QTS is the equivalent to a QTLS...

Attached Files:

4. sarah_kh9

sarah_kh9 New commenter

And then there is this...

Attached Files:

5. frustum

frustum Star commenter