1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I need some help understanding this- salary for job.

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by pickles124, Jan 10, 2017.

1. pickles124

pickles124 Established commenter

Hello All,

I have been offered and have accepted a Teaching Assistant position,which to my knowledge they made clear i would be paid on skills and qualifications.

I have a BA degree, no Level 2/3 qualification as of yet.

I was told verbally i would be on a starting salary and pay grade of around £19,238 per annum at Grade 3 Point 20, pro rata term time.

However im struggling to understand why my annual salary is £14,979. Why do i have two different figures. I don't understand this very well.

Do i accumulate the rest of the money eventually as it doesn't look like im on a salary of £19,238. This is my first proper TA job in an LEA school, and need help understanding this as simply as possible.

2. pickles124

Just to add im starting out on a temp contract until the end of July, where if i do well i may be offered a permanent contract.

I am still extremely confused by all this. If anyone can please help to explain this to me i would be very grateful.

3. Trekkie

Trekkie Occasional commenter

Firstly, well done on getting the job pickles124!

Pro rata means that the salary quoted is what a full time worker would receive for the same job (£19,238). Your salary is calculated according to what proportion of a full-time job your hours make up (£14,979). In a Primary setting you might only work 25 hrs pw (as I did) which is basically the time the children are in school. Some TAs work 30 hrs+ pw. How many hours pw are you working?

4. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter