1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I need help!

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by TexanTeacher2013, Jun 20, 2018.

1. TexanTeacher2013

TexanTeacher2013 New commenter

I am tenaciously trying to find placement in AD. I am a certified teacher in Texas, have 5 years of experience, M.S. in Reading & Writing, and I'm ESL certified. What else do I need? I've applied to Teachaway, Footprints, and some school directly. Very limited responses. Can someone please direct towards the next most appropriate steps.

Thank you for reading this.
    Jaye

2. moscowbore

moscowbore Occasional commenter

Primary or secondary?
    If secondary, do you have a degree in the subject you wish to teach?

You could ask for some feedback on your applications. Agencies will usually give you a good appraisal of your cv (resume).

A lot of international schools require recent experience of a particular teaching system. British international schools usually require recent experience of the English system.

Please do not use your real name. You will immediately be identified by any prospective employer. Every international school in the world reads this forum.

3. TexanTeacher2013

This isn't my real name. Thank you for the warning though. I didn't know about the various viewers. I am certified Generalist EC-6 with experience teaching English (Reading & Language arts) in 4th & 5th grade. The SOT follows the TEKS curriculum.

4. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

The main recruitment season was over months ago. Get all your stuff togather and get ready for when it starts again in September.

5. TexanTeacher2013

Oh ok. Makes sense. Thanks!!!

6. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter