1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I made a home learning platform for GCSE Maths students

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by SparkMaths, Apr 15, 2020.

1. SparkMaths

SparkMaths Occasional commenter

Hi, I've been working for two years on my own online learning platform using computer generated questions. I'm looking for users and feedback!

The Platform:
    https://sparkmaths.com/index-homework.html

The way it works is that there are about 200 lessons marked Red/Amber/Green, which you access by clicking on a subject, topic then skill.

At the start everything is Red, but if you complete a lesson on a skill (watch the YouTube video, do 9 multiplce choice questions then 12 interleaved practice questions) then the skill is marked Amber. If you click on the test for a topic, you'll get 12 random questions from your Amber/Green skills, anything you get right is marked Green.

Through the magic of cookies, your progress should be saved as long as you use the same device and web browser.

What I really want is feedback to help make the website better:

I know that some skills don't fit onto the screen properly and there are probably a few errors. There also a small number of topics not availiable yet (Substitution/Bar Charts/Pie Charts/Averages from a Table). If you want your students to do a topic that isn't perfect yet, I can prioritise fixing those first.