1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I know nothing about photography. Help.

Discussion in 'Personal' started by lindenlea, Nov 22, 2018.

1. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

If I video something on my phone, can I save it onto my laptop. Similarly if someone uses a digital camera to video something can we save it onto my laptop. What format is video when filmed on a phone or a camera. Don't even know if these questions make sense.

2. HelenREMfan

HelenREMfan Star commenter

Right... I am no expert..is it an Apple phone? If so then is simple as it can go onto the iCloud.... which saves it across my Apple products...
    If not.... would you have a usb connector to it? In which case you should be able to link it physically to a laptop.... look for the files in Finder/Explorer etc and copy across...
    Or could you link it to Messenger and send it to yourself via that?
    As for formats..... I would have to ask MrREMfan as I don't 'get' any of that.
    Hope that helps... a lil :)

lindenlea likes this.
  3. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

Thanks @HelenREMfan I thought that might be the way with my phone. But the person who is going to do the filming might want to use his camera.

4. HelenREMfan

HelenREMfan Star commenter

My Sony Cybershot (great little camera!) has a card inserted.... so you might be able to link that directly into the laptop..... or you might need a card reader (I have both) so you could transfer the files like that. He might have a cable with one end linked to phone - other end a USB to link to laptop.
    Please excuse the non techno language.

5. Aquamarina1234

Aquamarina1234 Star commenter