1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I know my job!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by princesslegend, Jul 16, 2019.

1. princesslegend

princesslegend Occasional commenter

Sorry I think this is more of a rant than anything. I teach a very low ability group who will be sitting GCSEs next year.
    I have been teaching for 10 years (9? 11? who knows! it's been AGES!)
    I have marked externally for 7 years.
    I think it's fair to say - i know my subject.

I have one boy recently moved down to my class whose parents refuse to accept that he belongs in this low ability set. I feel undermined at every turn.
    "Can he move up?" No.
    "What can he do to improve?" Everything i've told him.

Now they want to see my marking and TBH, I've had an absolute gutsful.
    I appreciate they want the best for their son - I do too. But I am sick of being made to feel like I don't know how to do my job. He is low ability in my subject. There is nothing more I can do for him. I'm so fed up.

ARGH!

2. CheeseMongler

CheeseMongler Lead commenter

I feel for you. I find pushy parents to be the hardest to deal with and it's completely impossible without support of others. They will need to hear the same message from someone else, maybe two or three others, before they will accept that maybe their son isn't as good as they think.