1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I keep on asking myself if it is me.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by AlwaysAdaptable, Nov 19, 2011.

1. AlwaysAdaptable

AlwaysAdaptable New commenter

This is how it goes. I started work in a lovely school 10 years ago as a mature entrant to the profession. So you can guess how old I am. It was like a family and I was very happy. 5 years in a new deputy head started. Things started changing. People left. Then a new assistant head started. People left. This one was an out an out bully.
    Anyway, from being an outstanding teacher, I became inadequate, however during OFSTED I was graded good with outstanding features. Five staff resigned, I thought I could hang on, but n I found myself under constant scrutiny. I can't even go into what they did to me.
    I felt bullied. Union wasn't much help. I resigned and my head promised to give me a good reference.(Union guy said this was not a compromise agreement). I was neither put on informal or formal capability at all , but I was managed out of ajob.
    Anyway I am now in a new school. It is a difficult school. I find myself floundering. I have tried asking for help but it wasn't forthcoming, so I stay back and work out things my self. I wasn't even given a proper network password until 3 weeks into the new job.
    Sometimes I don't even want to go in. I can't believe the same thing is happening and I am worried that I might be put on capability. I want to leave, but I need this job and also how will I get references from my previous school as things werent exactly brilliant there.

2. NellyFUF

NellyFUF Lead commenter