1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I just quite fancy it!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Simples101, Jan 11, 2011.

1. Good evening all,

I am currently an NQT and enjoying my jobs lots, although there is pressure coming from every area to meet this target, do that performance, observe this and that etc. Anyway recently a couple of teachers have been off sick and we have had supply teachers in and I got speaking to them.
    Their job sounds ACE! They get to travel around visiting new schools and teaching lots of different classes and I thought that it sounded amazing and it makes me really want to do it. I am only on a 1 year contract anyway so I am a free agent as of September 2011.
    But, lots of people tell me this isnt a wise move.
    Could I have anyones opinion on whether going into supply teaching would be that great and idea. I know I would have to take a pay cut but don't mind that really as long as it isnt unliveably (is that a word?) big. I just think it sounds amazing to travel to different schools and teach a variety of different classes.
    What does the wise world of the TES community think?

2. Good evening all,

I am currently an NQT and enjoying my jobs lots, although there is pressure coming from every area to meet this target, do that performance, observe this and that etc. Anyway recently a couple of teachers have been off sick and we have had supply teachers in and I got speaking to them.
    Their job sounds ACE! They get to travel around visiting new schools and teaching lots of different classes and I thought that it sounded amazing and it makes me really want to do it. I am only on a 1 year contract anyway so I am a free agent as of September 2011.