1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I got a job!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Lilybett, Jul 22, 2011.

1. I'm a primary teacher but in Feb I applied for an LSA post at a local secondary school. I came second (as ever) and just forgot about it. I have been absolutely heartbroken (!!) not to have found a teaching post for September and the summer holidays were looking like a long and desolate stretch... but I just had a phonecall from the school saying they kept my details on file and offering me another LSA post, one-year contract from Sep!
    WOO!
    Everyone's been like, 'What? Just an LSA job?' and 'What? You're going to hold off looking for a teaching job for a year?' and 'A year is a long time' and 'That's a 50% pay cut' (50% of nothing??) but I'm really pleased! A salary! No more supply! A proper job in a school to help me get a teaching post for Sep 2012! A salary! SALARY! Did I mention salary?
    I'm so stoked. Whatever - I know it's not exacty the job I'm qualified for but I think it will help me get a teaching job? And a SALARY!
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! xxx

2. AND I have a caution on my police record which I was nervous about. But they know this as they photocopied my CRB on the interview day. PHEW!

3. That is AWESOME!! Well done!!

4. Thanks, darling! Remember I said I was going to share Head's feedback with you? He hasn't returned my call ha ha and not sure whether I want to bother him on the last day of term. Just so you know - I didn't just forget/not bother xxx

5. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

Well done! x

6. Thanks, luv! Was about to start, 'Did you teach me GCSE Engli-' but we have had that conversation. Several times! xx

7. littlemissraw