1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I feel like I can't handle first grade.

Discussion in 'US – Staffroom' started by ppt2104, Oct 12, 2018.

?

How can I improve my class control.

This poll will close on May 12, 2019 at 6:29 PM.
  1. Class control

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Students behaviors

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I don't know what to do

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. ...

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. ppt2104

ppt2104 New commenter

Hello, I would be really grateful for any advise possible to improve. I have been a teacher for some years and I used to love my job, before I use to teach second, third and fourth grade as a Social Studies teacher, but for this year I decide to accept a position to teach in first grade in an international school where I should only speak my native language no english so they will become bilingual, I teach Math, Science, Language Arts and Social Studies. I thought I could be challenging being my first time with 6 years old but it is an small school and I would only have 6 students, so I thought I could do it. But now, I feel like the worst teacher ever. I feel like I don't have control of my class. One of my students is a really aggressive and there are fights that break up in the middle of the lesson ending on him punching or pushing other kids, other one has a really negative attitude, he constantly says that he hates school, everything is boring at the point that if we sing he doesn't do it because is boring, if we play then he hates to play, the same with many things, and every time he says something negative other or others follow the same attitude. There is also a rude attitude against one of the boys, the other students constantly make him fee