1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I don't want to complete my NQT year

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by begu312, Sep 10, 2015.

1. So I began working straight away the moment I completed my degree. I gained a permanent position through a teaching agency at a primary school willing to support me during my NQT year. However since starting in June I have been truly miserable. I worked for the school from June until they broke up for summer holidays and have just returned to start my NQT year.

I am positive this career is not for me, it's not the school, the staff or the children. I get a lot of support, help and guidance and I am eternally grateful for that...but I am majorly unhappy. I just do not like teaching, I have completely picked the wrong career for me. I don't think I'm a bad teacher as I gained a 2:1 for my degree and from day one have constantly impressed the teachers at my school. Nonetheless the job is affecting my health, I'm always stressed, I feel seriously depressed and this morning on my way to school I crashed my car. I'm worried continuing my NQT year will seriously damage my well-being. But I don't know what to do...

My mum is a single mum and works full time and has done for the past 15 years to make sure we can survive. She needs my help and teaching offered me a great salary. I was thinking of doing supply work whilst I figured out what I wanted to do with my life, but I'm worried about how to break it to the school. I don't know how to go about even resigning, I'm so sick with worry.