1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I don't want to be constantly asked why I'm not wearing a mask

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Happilyeverafterfinally, Sep 26, 2020.

1. Happilyeverafterfinally

Happilyeverafterfinally New commenter

I'm a student in college. I have a genuine reason why I can't wear a mask. Our college has purple lanyards for anyone who can't wear a mask. I wear the lanyard but when walking around college staff still ask "where is your mask?" "Why are you not wearing a mask?".

2. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Star commenter

What is the reason?

3. blazer

blazer Star commenter

Are you sure you can't wear a face covering? It does not have to be a mask, a scarf or snood will meet the requirement. Or even get one of those transparent face shields?

4. Happilyeverafterfinally

Doesn't need to be disclosed online, thank you.

5. DrLinus

DrLinus Lead commenter

Jiggle your lanyard at them.
    I would.

6. Happilyeverafterfinally

I just point to it/wave it

claret09 and agathamorse like this.
  7. Happilyeverafterfinally

The point isn't whether or not I can wear a mask.

claret09 and agathamorse like this.
  8. needabreak

needabreak Star commenter

Try wearing a sandwich board that says you have a genuine reason for not wearing a mask and don't want to be asked why you aren't wearing a mask.

9. modelmaker

modelmaker Star commenter

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2...g-aerosols-japanese-supercomputer-coronavirus

Plastic face shields are almost totally ineffective at trapping respiratory aerosols, according to modelling in Japan, casting doubt on their effectiveness in preventing the spread of coronavirus.