1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I don't know if I can go on

Discussion in 'Primary' started by adamadams, Nov 17, 2019.

1. adamadams

adamadams New commenter

I'm a Canadian teacher, just graduated in June and I started up a teaching position in England in September for year 3.

Coming over I knew things were going to be different and from what I read online I knew it was going to be difficult, but I was sure I could do it. I had so much passion and determination to do a good job. I'm a little under 3 months into the job and all of the passion is gone, not an ounce is left.

I feel so beyond stressed, maybe even depressed but I'm not sure. I don't even know how to explain how I feel. It's like I'm dead inside, I can't remember the last time I felt truly happy. It's gotten to the point where I've stopped eating; I skip breakfast and lunch because I have no appetite (to the point where of I try to force myself to eat I feel like I'm going to puke), and then I eat a very small dinner because once school is over I feel a little hungry, but not much. Getting up every morning is a chore, and forcing myself to smile in front of my class and colleagues is even harder.