1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I dont have a clear dbs check

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by NatNat77, Aug 5, 2019.

1. NatNat77

NatNat77 New commenter

I am seriously considering applying for a pgce in primary school education. I meet all of the academic qualifications, I am a good parent and have been told I would be a good teacher. I have experience in sports coaching and I am a former psychologist.
    The stumbling block is that I don't have a clear dbs check. 19 years ago I was involved in an abusive relationship and unknown to me they were taking things from work (we worked together) and they were using my id. I have a conviction for theft which will show on their checks. I have an 8 year old enhanced crb check and it's there. On the form it is split into theft and theft of employer even though it's for the same incident, as I am unable to check myself I an unable to obtain a more current version.
    It has taken me years to rebuild my life and at the grand old age of 42 I think im finally brave enough to try and follow my dream.

I have contacted my local university and it appears I have a chance of being accepted onto a course but it's difficult to determine if they are just stating policy about the rehabilitation of offenders of if this is the reality.
    Is this likely to only ever be a dream or do have a chance or obtaining employment?
    Please be honest but dont crucify me for naivity of nearly 20 years ago.

2. MrMedia

MrMedia Star commenter