1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I cant manoevre.

Discussion in 'Personal' started by countrybumpkin, Dec 20, 2010.

1. countrybumpkin

countrybumpkin New commenter

I am exactly the same. I'm a good driver and very safe but as for parking and getting out of parking places ...
    I have been driving 11 years so I think I'm beyond help!
    On several occasions other people - including random strangers have had to get me out of a space. It's a good job my car is worth nothing because they could have just driven away!!

2. Hi
    I know just how you feel- I have been known to circle the car park several times in order to find a "suitable space"!can I suggest 2 things that may help-
    • a driving lesson- yes I know you have passed your test but a lesson with a different driving instructor who may teach you some of the tips of the trade that the last one failed to teach you!
    • a different car- I am much better in a neat hatchback when I can see the ends of the car and the sides dont bulge out too much! Or get a really expensive car with an inbuilt camera that shows whats behind you as you reverse on a neat little screen, been in a friends and its magic.

3. Not so good as parking, though have never had to get someone else to park for me! I frequently have to drive a long way around a car park until I can find a space big enough.

4. My old car was smaller and had a better turning circle and I didnt seem to have as many problems, but new car is long and has turning circle of a f*cking tractor.
    That and im just rubbish at it!

5. lurk_much

lurk_much Occasional commenter