1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I can’t go on

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by tiredbutstrong, Nov 12, 2019.

1. tiredbutstrong

tiredbutstrong New commenter

Hi

I’m not sure if this is the right platform, but I seriously don’t think I can go on. I started work at a school this year, where I was isolated by my department from my first day there - I’m not even sure why they gave me the job. I feel as though I don’t have a clue half the time, and I’m an experienced teacher, over 10 years. I’m left out of emails where resources are shared, those few times when the line manager actually shares resources. I teach every year and am expected to create individual resources and worksheets for every class - when I shared my concern that without resources shared, it just wasn’t possible to do that, I was told I was lazy.

I barely sleep, I feel I work every moment, yet I don’t seem to achieve anything as I’m so overwhelmed. So behind on marking, so behind in teaching. Whilst off sick, I had thoughts of just ending it - everything. I’ve had to start seeing a counsellor since I started the role. The only reason I’m still doing it is because I can’t afford to leave financially. I’m just worried things will get worse and I’ll do something I genuinely don’t want to.

Any words of advice? Have I become allergic to this career? Is it just me? I feel like such a failure.
    Apologies for the venting, I just can’t cope.

2. sidekick125

sidekick125 New commenter

I am so sorry to hear that this job has made you feel like this!