1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I am moving from year 4 to Foundation Stage! V worried!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by kirsty135c, Aug 27, 2010.

1. kirsty135c

kirsty135c New commenter

As the new term is creeping up on us I am feeling more and more worried about Foundation Stage! I have had two years experience in year 4 and am anxious about the jump! After spending a morning in FS during the Summer term, I was surprised about the child initiated play and I know I am going to miss individual lesson plans and the rigid structure of KS2. I have not taught speed sounds before and do not know many songs to sing with the children! I have been looking on teachers tv to get more of an insight into a FS classroom. Any words of wisdom?? This sounds silly but rather than teaching a direct lesson with 30 chn at desks, what does a FS teacher do during free play? Advice to calm my nerves would be much appreciated!!

2. I too am new so am sure people will have far better advice than me but...
    During free play a teacher in my school would be expected to be doing one of the following - observations of the children for assessment and planning purposes, support during structured play opps, AI - Adult Initiated activities, F - focussed group work linked to one of the areas of learning.