1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I am in a constant state of panic

Discussion in 'Personal' started by AbsaloutK, Mar 20, 2016.

1. AbsaloutK

AbsaloutK New commenter

Hi all. I'm an English teacher to a Year 11 GCSE class and I am in a state of constant panic and anxiety about how they will perform in their GCSE's. It's literally keeping me up at night. They are a bottom set class with KS2 data consisting of 1, 2 or 3 in levels. All except one is an EAL student and about seven of them cannot write a full sentence in English. Three have moderate learning difficulties. Some are just incredibly lazy and refuse to do work.

The school is in a very challenging area in north east London where crime rates are high and so many of our students just don't seem interested. They seem like they would like to do well, but have no interest in studying or doing homework or even checking their spellings! We also changed curriculum three times between now and the start of Year 10 (not my idea) and a constant turnover of teachers meant that I only met them in December, with a brand new exam board to teach from scratch. I now have to go in on Monday and teach them a whole question from the language paper in a week.I just feel like I have no time to help them and their poor literacy and English skills means they will struggle to help themselves in any significant way. I'd do anything to help ensure they get their C grade but I always feel as though I am never doing enough.

2. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

Why on earth are they even doing GCSE? What good will it do them? They should be studying at a level that is appropriate to their needs?