1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

(i am actually a student)Organising time with Biology, Chemistry, Music and Jazz A levels

Discussion in 'Science' started by jamesedbrass, May 6, 2019.

1. jamesedbrass

jamesedbrass New commenter

Hello teachers of the internet. (again actually a first year A level student)

I was wondering if could get any input of the current predicament i am in. i went to sixth form wanting to pursue a career in optics, however, working 5.5 hrs a week in high street opticians has convinced me otherwise. I want to have a career in the Royal Marines Band service. My timetable is quite saturated as I have full days at college every day bar Tuesday. Weekends i work all day Sunday (10.30 to 16.30 with an hour bus there and back) and Saturday mornings i attend my county youth brass band rehearsals. I Often find myself wanting to drop a science as(*I personally think*) it would make preparing for a military and musicing career easier and make my chances of getting higher. I like BIO and Chem but paired with the saturated timetable I find it quite difficult to do revision and things properly. I am torn between dropping chemistry and not dropping it as the music subjects will obviously help me get into RMBS. on top of this, my euphonium teacher wants me to do my grade 8 this December and my trombone teacher also. And my a level music teacher has put us in for grade 8 music theory in may next year. My parents have given me the option of continuing like this or leaving home. any input would be appreciated :)

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter

This is a tough one and I think we are all in sympathy - we've seen this before (which is why you are asking us!)