1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

Hypothetical calculation

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by offordj, Mar 14, 2019.

1. offordj

offordj New commenter

I have been teaching since September 1983 and recently requested my revised salary details from Teachers Pensions. My best three years were from 01/02/09 to 31/01/12, but were then dropping off. In order to preserve this period, I have opted (from 1st March 2019), with the intention of opting back in on 1/04/19.

I believe that this creates a hypothetical calculation scenario, where my pension would be based on one of three scenarios.
    • My final salary
    • The best three years out of the last 10
    • The best three years up until the one month break
    Obviously the third scenario is going to be the best outcome for me, but I'm just wondering if my thought process is correct.

2. diddydave

diddydave Occasional commenter

I don't think so, the pensions website is down until Monday so cannot confirm but I believe if you rejoin within 5 years you are treated as having never left. I think the only way to fix the 10-years is to opt-out (and make sure you stay opted out - beware auto re-enrolment), stop working or actually take the pension.

3. applecrumblebumble