1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Hunger Games grades?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by therumpus, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Hi all.
    I'm a preservice teacher (so excuse my lack of knowledge!!) and I wonder if you might be able to help me figure out what grade levels would be suitable for Hunger Games units? Also, I'm in Australia, so I guess age/grades might be a little different to the UK.
    Do you think that Grade 6 (10-12 year olds) would be an okay grade? From prac, I know that many kids would be capable of it, but there are a few that still struggle with any reading.
    I remember that when I was in Year 6, the teacher read the class A Fortunate Life. Is reading to the class unusual at that grade? If the book were to be read to the class, I gather the content would be acceptable - has anyone had any problems with using Hunger Games?

Thanks.

2. Hi all.
    I'm a preservice teacher (so excuse my lack of knowledge!!) and I wonder if you might be able to help me figure out what grade levels would be suitable for Hunger Games units? Also, I'm in Australia, so I guess age/grades might be a little different to the UK.
    Do you think that Grade 6 (10-12 year olds) would be an okay grade? From prac, I know that many kids would be capable of it, but there are a few that still struggle with any reading.
    I remember that when I was in Year 6, the teacher read the class A Fortunate Life. Is reading to the class unusual at that grade? If the book were to be read to the class, I gather the content would be acceptable - has anyone had any problems with using Hunger Games?

Thanks.