1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

How to teach grammar without writing?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by tobyr2385, May 10, 2012.

1. I'm a PGCE student on my final few weeks of placement two. I'm currently teaching Year 9 the simple future tense in Spanish.
    I don't know necessarily whether this is a department thing or something that is happening at present, but it's been brought up a couple of times by colleagues.
    As a department, students are given the vocabulary from the current module as a photocopy from the textbook.
    My colleagues wish for me to teach grammar with as little writing as possible - especially with my higher ability students.
    I've been marking books of late, and there are some lessons where all the students have written down is the title, date and LO.
    I know I'm not experienced enough yet or haven't got my own classes, but how do I teach grammar if the students don't write or copy anything down in lessons?
    I'm completely stuck!

2. I'm a PGCE student on my final few weeks of placement two. I'm currently teaching Year 9 the simple future tense in Spanish.
    I don't know necessarily whether this is a department thing or something that is happening at present, but it's been brought up a couple of times by colleagues.
    As a department, students are given the vocabulary from the current module as a photocopy from the textbook.
    My colleagues wish for me to teach grammar with as little writing as possible - especially with my higher ability students.
    I've been marking books of late, and there are some lessons where all the students have written down is the title, date and LO.